Zucchini Cake with Quinoa Salad

photo (11)

Last night I was feeling adventurous.  While thinking of ideas for dinner and trying to incorporate the veggies that were about to go bad in my fridge, I luckily stumbled upon a recipe I had pinned a little while ago that worked perfectly with them and made me feel excitedly resourceful.  Grocery shopping and cooking for one person can be a little tricky at times, especially when you aren’t a fan of eating the same vegetables each and every night (I like my variety), but in order to keep a smaller carbon footprint, I try to be creative with recipes from time to time.  This was definitely a keeper.

I tweaked the recipe a bit from the original, but I think it still turned out pretty good!  I threw together a small quinoa salad to go with the cake, another mosh posh of foods I had to use soon.

For Pancakes
1/2 zucchini, grated
1/8 c onion, grated
1  tsp salt
1/8 c. all-purpose flour
1  tsp sugar
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 egg white
olive oil
For Quinoa Salad
1/2 c Quinoa (I used Trader Joe’s white quinoa)
1 cup water
2 Tbsp Lemon Juice
1 Tbsp Italian dressing
Garlic powder
Salt
Pepper
Make Pancakes
Shred zucchini and onion into a colander and toss with salt. Let stand for 20 minutes and then take handfuls at a time and squeeze all of the liquid out. Transfer the drained veggies to a large bowl and combine with flour, sugar, and pepper.
Hand beat egg white with salt then fold into the vegetable mixture.
Preheat a pan with 1 tbsp of oil. Pour batter into pan until it forms a pancake shape.  Cook until golden brown about 1-2 minutes each side. Remove and place on paper towels to drain the excess oil and sprinkle with salt. Place on top of Quinoa salad and serve with a dollop of Tatziki Sauce.
Make Quinoa Salad
1. Boil both water and quinoa together.  Once boiling, turn heat down to simmer, cover and cook for 15 minutes, or until the water cooks out.
2. Chop tomatoes, onion, jalapeno and pine nuts and mix together with cooked quinoa.
3. Add lemon juice and/or Italian dressing (I used both)
4. Add garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste
Leave a Reply

