Mastering the Juice Craze

Juicing has become the new “in” thing to do for your health.  You can get a days worth of vitamins and minerals from fruits and vegetables in just one glass if you don’t have the time to prepare them in their raw form. I like to make them before or after a workout because they’re so refreshing.

I bought a juice blend at Starbucks yesterday made by Evolution Fresh.  I was intrigued by the look of the bottle and the fact that it didn’t have any added sugar (like many commercially produced juices do); just what comes straight from the fruits and veggies.  Unfortunately I am not a huge green juice fan; the taste and smell of them just really turns me off, so I decided to save the bottle to use in one of my homemade smoothies that I’ve been experimenting with lately.  Let me just tell you it was one of the best smoothies I’ve ever made, and had so many more ingredients than I had on hand thanks to the juice blend.  And while I don’t have a super crazy expensive juicer like the NutriBullet or Vitamix, I do have a great personal blender that is quick and easy to use and clean up.

Ingredients

1/3 cup of Evolution Fresh Sweet Greens and Lemon Juice

1/3 cup strawberries (fresh or frozen)

1/4 cup raspberries

Handful of kale
Mix all ingredients in a blender and enjoy!  Add some more juice or water to make the consistency to your liking.

photo (10)

For more information, check out these helpful links:

5 Things you Need to Know about Juicing

Juicing from WebMd

Leave a Reply

