Don’t Mess with Texas

My trip to Texas last weekend was filled with a great amount of good company, good food and a little R&R.  My cousins have such a warm and inviting home, and it was nice to be able to spend time with them now that I don’t get to see them as often as when they lived in CT.

photo 2 (4)

Not too shabby, huh?

The weather was great; not as hot as I expected Texas to be in June, and the activities were just what I had in mind (mostly shopping and cooking)!  Here are some highlights!

First stop on the Texas tour… Tom Thumb.  Everything really is bigger here, even the grocery stores!

photo 2 (6)             photo 4 (2) 

photo 1 (4)

I was also invited (tricked) into going to a workout class at a place called Velocity, which is really more of a sports performance training – boot camp gym (torture chamber).  But in all honesty, it was a great workout, I just couldn’t really move properly for about 3 days after.

photo 2 (5) photo 3 (2)

We went shopping in a small town called Grapevine, TX where we pretty much ate our way through the farmers’ market

photo 5 (1)  photo 1 (2) photo 2 (3)  photo 4 (1) photo 3 (1)

I found these cute packets of Almond and Peanut Butter, which looked a bit more appetizing than the unsalted kind I first purchased.  I can’t wait to try them!

photo 2 (7)

And I can’t forget the delicious food I continued to consume while I was here, mostly home-made, which I thoroughly enjoyed.  Check out my post on my cousin, Austin’s Cilantro Pesto Chicken Panini’s!

All in all, it was a great trip!  I hope y’all (I learned how to spell it correctly this time) get to experience Texas at some point in your life.  It’s definitely one of a kind =)

photo 1 (3)

photo 1 (5)

One thought on “Don’t Mess with Texas

  1. Dear Emily,

    We all loved seeing you during your recent visit. I think in your pictures, you have given a more accurate and positive picture of what we, here in Texas, are really like. We are not all chewing on hay stems, wearing overalls and straw hats while settin on our horses, contemplating our bob war fences. If you need a translator for “bob war,” any older East Texas can do that for you. 

    I love looking at your pictures. You do make everything look bigger in Texas – even the displays of oranges in Tom Thumb. That is one of the newer Tom Thumbs. They are not all that large, but it definitely the trend to build the super grocery stores. The one near me is not that large. 

    Thank you bunches for coming. The boys really looked forward to seeing you. I am so glad they had the chance to live in CT and become more than just a cousin in fact, but not a real relationship. 

    Love,

    Aunt Doris and Uncle Robert

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

