Protein Packed Breakfast

Remember how I bought that giant jar of almond butter, come to find out I’m more partial to peanut butter after all?  Well, that jar has been opened on very few occasions since its purchase, until I came across a recipe where I could actually use the stuff to my advantage – Almond Butter Granola, from one of my favorite bloggers, Peanut Butter Fingers.  I’ve never made granola before, so I never knew how easy it is to actually make.  Most of the ingredients are (or should be) staples in your kitchen.  I tweaked the recipe a little bit, since I, embarrassingly, did not have any vanilla extract in my kitchen.  And, instead of honey, I used Agave Nectar, which is lighter and a little less overwhelming than honey, in my opinion.

Image

It might be some of the best granola I’ve ever had, and I’m going to give props to the almond butter for that.  Less than 20 minutes to make, it’s a great on the go breakfast or snack for the day.

Does anyone have any favorite granola recipes I could try?  I’m hooked!

One thought on “Protein Packed Breakfast

  1. Emily,

    I am eager to try this since I have a huge cylinder of chia seeds. It really is only about the size of an oatmeal box, but consider how rarely I use them it will last into the next generation. I may add some nuts.Love the way you are discovering nutritious food and photographing your food. Having good nutrition is a part of being a happy person. 

    We are happy about your mom’s and your new relationship with George. He is a wonderful caring person, and we are glad he is going to be a part of your future.

    Love,

    Aunt Doris

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

