Spring Fever

Well hello again.  Time seems to have gotten away from me yet again.  Weeks fly by and weekends fill up with plans quicker than I can blink, but I’m not complaining =)  It’s been a nice few months and Spring has finally arrived.  I love this season, not only because my birthday falls in the middle of it, but because there are more flowers, sunshine and good moods to go around.  Not to mention all of the country concerts that, yes, I bought all of the tickets to.

With spring’s arrival and summer just around the corner, it’s time to get out of the stuffy gym and get outside!  I’ve always preferred to run outside vs. on the treadmill.  I never feel like I’ve gone anywhere on that machine, and I have a hard time running the same pace and distance that I can in the fresh air.  There are so many benefits to working out outside; it’s a nice change of pace.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to see this at the end of one of your runs?

photo (4)

Although, I don’t get to experience this view every day.  Living in a downtown area is much different than the quiet suburban and beach towns that I’m used to.  There are so many more obstacles to avoid and interruptions that can really mess up your concentration when running.  I’m still on the hunt for a less noisy, more consistent route, but for now, I’ll just try not to get hit by any cars 😉

Along with new workouts come new workout fuel.  I’ve always wanted to try almond butter, the peanut butter of the health-nut generation.  I’ve read a lot of articles on the differences between the two, and while I didn’t find there to be a significant argument one way or the other, I did read that almond butter has 26% more Vitamin E, 3% more Iron, 7% more Calcium, 50% more mono-saturated fat and 25% less saturated fat than peanut butter (courtesy of Athletic Minded Traveler).  I finally caved and bought a jar of the Nature’s Promise, unsalted brand it last night at my local grocery store.  There weren’t a lot of options to choose from, so I would suggest looking at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods in the search for your jar if you get the chance.

One of my favorite breakfast meals is an English muffin with peanut butter and banana.  This morning I subbed in the almond butter for my go-to spread (I was so excited I forgot to snap a picture before I went to town).  It had a slightly nuttier texture than peanut butter, and definitely less salty (unsalted…who knew?), but I think I could get used to it.  Not sure if it’s really necessary, as long as the peanut butter I use isn’t loaded with added fats or sugars, like so many are.  Check your labels, kids!

That’s all for now, I promise to be back before 3 more months!

Food for Thought

What has your experience been with almond butter vs. the good old stuff?  Brands to try vs. stay away from?  Has anyone tried any other kinds of butters (cashew, coconut, etc.)?

Leave a Reply

