Get at those Greens

One of my goals in the new year is to incorporate more greens into my diet.  Green vegetables provide us with a variety of minerals like iron, calcium, magnesium and potassium, as well as four vitamins, K, C, E and B.  These nutrients strengthen our bones and could help prevent diabetes.  They also make our skin and hair look healthier. Bonus!

I’ve never been a huge salad-as-my-main-meal fan, so I’ve been finding different methods of adding in extra green to my already well-liked meals.  Last night, I tried kale for the first time.  While I was a little hesitant about how it would taste (I had heard it’s on the more bitter end of the green spectrum), I have also read a lot of benefits about the cabbage cousin; like how it’s considered the “nutritional powerhouse” of leafy greens.  So I figured I should see what all the hype is about.

First, I washed and chopped the kale into smaller pieces first.

46b66421-23df-4fec-b9f9-faad7094a72c_zps95ddddf2

I then heated some olive oil, garlic and pignoli (pine nuts) in a pan (with some chicken sausage off to the side to heat up)

39725f51-e52b-4623-8e59-83dd82415e5a_zps40a25119

Tossed in the kale once the nuts were slightly browned and seasoned with salt, crushed red pepper and lemon juice.

4a635bda-e73d-4d2c-9270-34ad837e79d2_zpsfad0a4f0

Mix it all together with some wheat pasta and chicken sausage, and I’d say it was a pretty delicious first-timer success!

10cc58cb-c5c4-4651-bfe3-810b42bfbf4b_zpse2e7e2f6

Leave a Reply

