Positively Present

I’m an avid fan of Yoga.  I’ve mastered difficult balance postures and seemingly impossible twists, and I can actually say I’m proud of how far I’ve come in the 7 months I’ve been practicing actively.  But nothing is ever fully mastered, and I still have a ways to go to feel like a true yogi.

The most difficult thing to gain control of in yoga is your mind.  Personally, my mind runs in about 20 different directions daily, so it can be difficult to reign it in for an hour-long class.  I will say that during active yoga, I can shut my brain off from the world and just focus on my poses, but when it comes time to lay down in Shavasana (I like to call it nap time), my mind starts revving up again and it just can’t be stopped.  But last night, at a new yoga class that I attended, I was actually able to connect with the message the instructor was sharing.

She talked about living in the present.  This is something we hear all the time, but kind of brush off as something that will never really happen.  How can we not worry and plan for the future?  How can we let go of things that happened yesterday that made us scared or frustrated?  You just have to take a moment and think to yourself, does it really make sense to worry about something that you can’t change?  It happened, they haven’t invented time machines yet, so all you can do is learn how to do it differently next time.  Also, it’s one thing to plan for the future, but to worry about things that are out of your control is a different story.  Worry stems from having no control, so it makes sense that this is the first emotion we feel when we are stressed.  But if you constantly live in this kind of a state, you miss all of the other great things that are happening right now.  Just remember that life passes way too quickly to take advantage of the present.  Try your best to live in the now; forget about tomorrow, if you plan accordingly for it that’s the best you can do.  The past is the past and it’s not going to change, so set a personal goal to work on for next time and then focus on that instead.

And take a yoga class.  Just try it once, give it a chance, and let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “Positively Present

  1. Living in the present – wow! I need a constant reminder of this, so thanks for your wise words. Love,
    AJ

  2. You have wisdom beyond your years. It’s a wonderful world when we take the time to enjoy it. Aunt Jenny

Leave a Reply

