Breakfast (is not) Optional

Breakfast is absolutely my favorite meal of the day.  I’m a firm believer in even eating it for other meals, but I never skip it if I can help it.  I love the variety of things that you can eat; from salty to sweet, protein, veggies or carbs.  The possibilities are endless, and usually require little effort depending on your time constraints.  What I love most is when I actually have the time to whip up something more gourmet than just frozen Eggo waffles (my Go-To during the week).  This past weekend, I had just the right amount of ingredients to put this beauty together, and can I just say, Oh my Deliciousness.Image

Turkey Bacon, Scrambled Egg, Avocado and Tomato sandwich on toasted Flax Grain bread.

Just cook the bacon in a pan with a little olive oil spray coating until it’s crispy, this kind usually only takes about 2 minutes on each side since it’s thin and has less fat to begin with.  Place cooked bacon on a paper towel to soak up the rest of the grease and let them cool.  Scramble two eggs in a bowl with salt, pepper, feta cheese and hot sauce.  Pour into the pan that you cooked the bacon in, set on low heat (I think this way gives the eggs more flavor, but feel free to use separate pans if you prefer).  Stir the eggs, making sure they don’t stick to the bottom too much, until they are just a little wet (I hate dry eggs).  They will continue to cook a little more once you take them off the heat.

While the eggs were cooking, I toasted the bread and sliced the avocado and tomato.  Place all ingredients together in open face sandwich form and either eat this way or altogether.

Can you guess what I had for dinner last night?

In other news, Happy Memorial Day!  I hope everyone enjoyed the warm weather and sunshine as much as I did.  It was a surprisingly relaxed weekend, which was perfect and much needed.  I got to enjoy the weather and even took a little trip to Rhode Island to visit my boyfriend’s family.  It was a nice get-away not too far from home.

\

I think long weekends should be executed more often, who’s with me?

3 thoughts on “Breakfast (is not) Optional

Leave a Reply

