Home Cooking

I love home cooking.  I get a great deal of satisfaction of making my own meals without having to spend a lot of $, or helping out with someone else’s concoction.  Here are just a few that Susie Q and I have put together in the past couple of weeks.

Chicken Cutlets, Steamed Broccoli, Kale and Sausage Pasta side, and a Cucumber, Tomato, Onion and Parmesan salad.  I was in heaven.

Salad is simple; just chop the ingredients and toss together with a little bit of olive oil and salt and pepper for seasoning.  I microwave the cut up broccoli in a veggie steamer for 6 minutes, then add a little margarine and toss.  Wash the thin chicken cutlets and pat dry.  Bread them in whole wheat breadcrumbs  and place in a skillet with some oil.  Much crispier than dipping in egg or flour, and decently healthier.  The pasta I will admit was not our own recipe.  It came from the grocery store, but I plan to make a replica of it sometime soon.  I’ve always wanted to experiment with Kale, so if anyone has any suggestions, I’d welcome them happily!

We also tried out a recipe I found on Pinterest (love): Baked Zucchini Sticks

Super simple.

Cut a Zucchini in half widthwise, then cut into halves again lengthwise.  Then cut into sticks of desired size.

In a zip lock back, combine:

  • 1/3 cup seasoned whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp grated Pecorino Romano cheese
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • Salt and pepper
Dip Zucchini sticks into a beaten egg white, then place them a few at a time in the bag and shake so they are coated with the mixture.
Place on a cooking sprayed baking sheet in a single layer and pop in the oven on 425 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Serve with choice of dipping sauce, marinara is ideal.

And now for the Guac.  I like to believe I make awesome guacamole (and hopefully those who have tried mine will agree) .  I adapted the recipe from my ultimate foodie friend, Alex.  It’s chunky, full of flavor and healthy, with no added ingredients but the veggies and seasoning (and maybe a little hot sauce if you’re feeling dangerous).  Check it out:

Ingredients:

2 slightly over-ripe avocados

1/4 cup chopped red onion

1/2 medium tomato, chopped

1/4 chopped jalepeno, without the seeds

1 lime

Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder

Hot Sauce (optional) to taste

Wash the avocado and cut in half.  Scoop out with a spoon and mash with a fork to desired consistency.  I like to keep it chunky if the ripeness allows.  Mix the rest of the chopped veggies (onion, tomato, jalapeno) in with the avocado.  Add in seasonings (salt, pepper and garlic powder) and some lime juice to finish.  Dip with whatever you desire.  I love the brand Food Should Taste Good Multigrain chips.

The finished product.  So good I could finish it by myself in one sitting (and often do… using only one avocado of course…)

Comments? Tips? Rave Reviews?

Leave a Reply

