Almost like a Summer Day

I love weekends that feel longer than usual, don’t you? Especially when they are filled with enjoyable activities. As the spring begins to lead to the summer, I am beginning to look forward to my weekends more and more. My calendar is already filled with country concerts, Yankees games and outdoor festivities. And now that it’s still light out when I get home from work, I can actually enjoy a nice run outside when the weather permits (like I plan to do today). My winter blues have finally come to an end.

78 degrees and sunny is what the weather man told me Saturday would bring. A morning run with my girlfriend started off this glorious day; a 3-mile loop that I am determined to tackle whenever I get the chance. I am proud to say I have finally reached that point in my life where I actually get excited about running. It has taken me 7 years. It started after I ran my first 5k on Thanksgiving morning this year and realized it was something that wasn’t going to kill me (although my body definitely tried to convince me it would). I didn’t train for it beforehand. I just got on the treadmill two days before the race, ran as slow as I never though possible (12 min mile to be exact) and didn’t stop until I hit 3.2 miles. I have never felt as good as I did that day, and so began my love affair with running.

Kings was next on the agenda for the day, my absolute favorite breakfast spot. Nothing compares to their over-the-top variations of your normal Eggs Benedict (Asparagus Benny), french toast (Forget Paris) or scrambled eggs (The Soprano). This place is a must try if you live in Connecticut. If you don’t believe me, take a look for yourself.

For those of you that have been missing out, this is The Soprano-pesto scrambled eggs with chicken sausage, red peppers and mozzarella cheese; homefries (which I could live off of) and bocco bread. Oh my Yum.

With my belly feeling happy and full, I headed up to Rocky Hill for the remainder of the weekend with plans to go on a hike and take Greg out to dinner for his birthday (or so he thought). What I actually had planned was a surprise dinner and night out with 14 of his friends. Who’s a good girlfriend? (Kidding).

Anyway, in the afternoon, Greg and I hiked up to Heublein Tower located on Talcott Mountain in the Simsbury/Bloomfield area. It is a 1.25 mile hike, half straight uphill (workout #2 for the day!). Once you get to the top of the hill, you can see out over the Farmington River Valley and Hartford area. I love wide open spaces, and this was a perfect picturesque view of my home state.

I imagine it is even more beautiful in the Fall, which I definitely plan to go back for. Unfortunately the Tower isn’t open until after Memorial Day, but we were still able to walk around the property.

It was the perfect Saturday afternoon leading into an eventful night out on the town. Relaxing + a little early shopping for my birthday was what Sunday had in store. Who says you can’t do it all?

What I’ve started to take away from both my long weekends (actual or perceived) and my almost nonexistent ones is to mentally slow down and breathe. To appreciate what you’re doing, right then and there, and harness that good feeling of having control and enjoyment in your life. To use that feeling to pull you through those gray days and bring you to the next good one. Too many times you hear someone say that life passes you by. From someone who never listened to that little bird while I was in college, and someone who sometimes wishes away the week in order to get to the weekend, I’m learning how important it is to develop a more balanced perspective of appreciating both.

Leave a Reply

