First!

I decided to start this blog last summer after I graduated, but wanted to settle into my “working-girl” lifestyle first so I would actually have something to write about.  Apparently it took almost a year to do that, but nevertheless, here I am, writing about my life, my hobbies and my interests, and hoping that others will find my posts enjoyable and somewhat inspiring.

College graduate.  Probably one of the most terrifying phrases for me to hear as a senior.  But the day came no matter how hard I tried to pretend it wouldn’t, and after spending 17 years (Kindergarten counts!) in classes surrounded by and eventually living with my closest friends, it’s a bit of (read: HUGE) an adjustment.  I fully believe that no matter how hard your friends and family try, there is no way to completely prepare anyone for the transition from school to work.  It’s something we all have to go through at some point, but let’s be honest, it’s not exactly how we imagined it.

So, I came to the decision to title my blog Happiness Made Easy, after reading  through numerous motivational articles about success and personal drive and finally stumbling upon an article about how to be happy at work.  Bingo! You can read it here, and let me tell you, it really sparked my interest in the value of finding the good in each day.

http://www.inc.com/geoffrey-james/how-to-be-happy-at-work.html

I’ll be the first to admit that I have a tendency to err on the side of negativity from time to time, but I have recently come to the conclusion that being negative only fuels the fire of creating more negativity and unhappiness, and the world certainly doesn’t need more of that.  Besides, it’s exhausting to be sad and miserable, and really just a waste of time.  Life is too short not to see the beauty that surrounds us.  If you want to make a difference in your own life and that of others, then get happy and pay it forward.  I swear it will make you feel 200% better.

So how do we do this?  Like the article says, make it simple.  We react much better to goals that are attainable.  Make a list of what makes you happy: movies, books, hobbies, people, etc.  Then decide on the rules that you can follow to make it easy to achieve your happiness.  Write them down, post reminders at your desk and at home so you never lose sight of your goal.

I have made a commitment to myself to try my hardest each and every day to find happiness.  It’s definitely a challenge, but I believe habits are easily turned to stone if you try hard enough.  I’m still working on my rules for happiness, but I’ll keep you updated as I go along.

And just remember, as my mom (one of the most optimistic and positive people I know and envy) always tells me, “Some days are diamonds and some days are stones”.  It’s what you make of your work and your life that will essentially define who you are, so make the choice to be happy, and make it easy.

Leave a Reply

